Review of 2015

Now that we have entered into December, I think I can review 2015 which passed by at a lightning speed.

Let me start with some resolutions I made with myself for 2015. Here you can read about it.

My last years resolutions.

I said that I would:

1. Understand computer networks

Result: Failure.

Thought process: The plan was to read a book or two until I have a basic understanding of the topic.

Reason for failure/success: I think this went really low on my list of priorities.

2. Stick to one side project

Result: Mixed feelings.

Thought process: As history have suggested, I keep wandering from ideas to ideas and never actually end up doing one thing completely. So I had decided last year that I will be working on just one thing. And believe me I had said no to friends for side projects they wanted me to be involved with. I ended up starting ‘At a happy place‘  in January and it has been 11 months since I have been working on this. Although for the last few months I have not been able to give it time as much as I would have wished to. But I think the project still needs a lot more work and I have some really cool ideas for the project which I have no idea how I can implement them. 🙂

 

Reason for failure/success: I would not go ahead and call this a failure. This was definitely not a failure but I would also say I am not fully satisfied with the progress so far on it.

3. Do more open source contributions

Result: Mixed feelings.

Thought process: I started doing open source contribution somewhere around mid 2014 and I wrote this straight from the heart post about contributing to open source.

You can see my github open-source contribution chart for this year. Its not the prettiest thing you will see but it has improved a lot this year. But that being said I could have done a lot more.

Screen Shot 2015-11-30 at 10.04.33 pm

Reason for failure/success: I can`t call this an outright success or a failure either. I would rather say that there is a lot more I could have done.

4. Read more non-tech books(at least 4)

Result: Success.

Thought process: The plan was to read more books to get a broader sense of things and pick up style of writing of the people who are professionals as I believe I need to improve upon my style of writing.

I ended up reading 4 John Grasham`s novel. I really liked his style of writing. I also read a couple of other non-fiction books. In all I think I read 6 books.

Reason for failure/success: I would definitely call this a success as I have achieved the target I had set for myself. But now looking back at it, I think I will set a more difficult target for myself for the future as reading 4 books in an year is no big deal.

Now moving on to see how things went in my professional and personal life.

Professional Review:

  • Spoke at 2 international conferences in Belgium and Israel. So this makes it 5 conferences so far.
  • Became a collaborator on medium_editor open source project.
  • Started working on angular js.

Personal Life:

  • As I had mentioned in my last years post, we were looking forward to welcome a special new member to our family. God blessed my sister with a healthy baby and we call him “Manny”.IMG_4174
  • I did travel this year. I visited New York, Chicago, Ghent, Barcelona and Jerusalem this year. And also did 3 or 4 local trips with friends. So it was all round a fun filled year.
  • I did skydiving from 5000 meters in Barcelona which was pretty scary and fun at the same time. Here is the video.
  • I ran my first ever 10kms marathon.
  • A friend of mine and I had a horrific accident on a road trip. But all is good now.

 

What about 2016 ?

I have not actually thought of resolutions for this year. But I would like to improve upon a few things namely contributing to open source projects as it is a very satisfying experience. I would like to speak at more conferences as it gives me opportunity to make new friends and travel to different places. I would also like to improve ‘At a happy place’ as I know it could be a really good project. I would definitely like to learn a lot more about computer science in general and not just things related to my work. Also I would like to taste the ‘startup bug’ about which I have been thinking (thats all I have done) for past 2 years now.

Some moments from 2015:

DSC_0551

IMG_1279

 

I hope the world have a great 2016 which is full of peace and harmony and less of terrorism… and as Ellen says it “Be kind to one another everyone” …. !!

One thought on “Review of 2015

  1. Very well written. It is always good to review what we resolved earlier and what we really achieved. It will surely help to set path for next year. I wish you very successful and satisfying year 2016.

    Papa

Leave a Reply

